WhatsApp Rolling Out Deleting Messages for All Recipients

Ken Copeland
October 28, 2017

WhatsApp's new Delete for everyone feature is said to be the prominent among the most asked for one, and is probably going to make things marginally less demanding for WhatsApp clients.

WhatsApp has introduced a new "delete for everyone" feature, allowing users to unsend an embarrassing message within seven minutes of sending it.

To delete a message, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete. You have to recall messages before the 7 minutes timer which starts when you send the message.

- Once the update has been rolled out to United Kingdom user, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.

Users must be using the most recent version of WhatsApp for the changes to take effect, WhatsApp has clarified on its website.

The sent message will be deleted from both notifications and chat pages and will be replaced with "This message was deleted for everyone".

Microsoft cloud annualized run rate passes $20 billion
While the Azure cloud platform is included in this number, Microsoft sadly doesn't break out Azure revenue numbers. As usual, cloud services continue to be among the fastest growing parts of Microsoft's business.

Amazon extends shipping offer to businesses
Companies can also sign up to try out Amazon's Business Prime Shipping for free for 30 days. This individual benefit continues today, despite the launch of the new program.

Las Vegas gunman's brother arrested for child porn
He now faces one count of possession of more than 600 images of child pornography and 19 counts of sexual exploitation of a child. After the attack, Bruce Paddock told NBC News he was questioned about the shooting twice by the Federal Bureau of Investigation .

But with this new roll out of recall feature, the sender can delete both the copies of the messages.

With the update, holding onto the message you'd like to delete and tapping the trash icon near the top of your screen will showcase a few different options - Delete For Me, Delete For Everyone, and Cancel. Once seven minutes have passed, deleting a text will not remain possible.

There's still a chance the recipient could see the message before you get around to deleting it.

You've been able to delete messages in WhatsApp for a while now, but doing so would only delete it on your end. Right now the feature is rolling out to certain users, according to The Next Web. The all-new WhatsApp Beta 2.17.397 brings new emojis like star eyes, swearing face, vomiting face, shushing face, and more to the list.

I've tested this with Artem who's running the latest beta as well, and even though he can't delete messages for everyone just yet, deletion worked on his end as a recipient. Moreover, everyone involved has to have the latest version of the app for it to work. Instead they will see a notification explaining the message has been removed. You can nearly hear the collective cheer from irresponsible drinkers who like to send 'U UP?' at 4am to their ex-partners, can't you?

Quoted WhatsApp texts can not be deleted even within seven minutes.

Other reports by Guamnewswatch

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER