Jaguars among Hall of Fame candidates

Ken Copeland
September 17, 2017

The list of 108 eventually will be reduced to 15 finalists.

He made the Pro Bowl and was named a first-team All-Pro during his first season for his return prowess, scoring two kick return touchdowns and taking one punt to the house.

The roster of nominees consists of 53 offensive players, 38 defensive players, 5 special teams players and 12 coaches.

Smith retired from the National Football League just last year, so many fans were surprised to find out that the 38-year-old's name already came up in the list of nominees for the Hall of Fame class of 2018.

He had a combined eight sacks in his final two seasons with the Colts, playing in all 32 games with 31 starts over that span.

Players and coaches who predate the 25-year window are considered by the Senior Selection Committee, which has named Brazile and former Green Bay Packers guard Jerry Kramer as its finalists for the Class of 2018.

LeRoy Butler, Sterling Sharpe, Donald Driver and former head coach Mike Holmgren are all among the 108 players and coaches who have been nominated for induction into the Hall. He led the National Football League in rushing his first two seasons, was a fourth-time Pro Bowl selection and was named to the All-Decade team of the 2000s despite suffering a serious knee injury in 2001.

UK Prime Minister May scolds Trump for irresponsible 'speculation' about terror attack
The Israeli Ambassador to the UK, Mark Regev, said on social media that "Israel stands in solidarity with the people of London". British Prime Minister Theresa May denounced the "cowardly" attack , which she said had "intended to cause significant harm".

Jennifer Lawrence Spy Thriller 'Red Sparrow' Teaser Trailer Released
Official Synopsis: When she suffers a career-ending injury, Dominika and her mother are facing a bleak and uncertain future. Umm, does that sound a bit familiar, Black Widow fans? Red Sparrow or when the Atomic Blonde meets Tom Clancy .

CNN Is Mad Because 'White Men' Speak At Trump Voter Fraud Commission
He says the commission was created to substantiate the biggest lie ever told by a sitting president and should be dismantled. The Kansas Secretary of State and gubernatorial candidate said in the article that it appeared the New Hampshire U.S.

Others who have been announced as candidates and played for the Redskins at some point in their careers include quarterback Rich Gannon and Donovan McNabb, running back Earnest Byner, wide receiver Henry Ellard and linebackers Wilber Marshall and Carl Banks.

Almost every other wide receiver nominee-there were 12 besides Smith-surpassed those marks in a two-year stretch over their careers.

Tight ends: Mark Bavaro, Ben Coates, Ferrell Edmunds, Jay Novacek.

This is probably one of the many reasons Steve Smith Sr. started putting Smith Sr. on the back of his jersey.

Offensive linemen: Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Steve Hutchinson (G), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Bart Oates (C), Jeff Saturday (C), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G).

Vanden Bosch is on the ballot for the first time. He was an all-decade lineman for the 2000s, as selected by the Hall, and along with Randy Moss, Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher, headlines this year's new nominees.

Kickers/punters: K Gary Anderson, P Sean Landeta, K Nick Lowery.

Other reports by Guamnewswatch

Discuss This Article