Game of Thrones at Raisina Hill: Voting begins for Presidential elections

Jerome Frank
July 17, 2017

However, Thameemun Ansari of Jananayaka Manithaneya Makkal Katchi who was elected to Assembly on Two Leaves symbol had declared his support for Meira Kumar as political parties can not issue whip for the presidential elections.

The pens for the presidential polls were introduced following a controversy that broke out during voting in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana in September 2016. He even issued guidelines of do's and donot's for the voters. The green ballot papers are for the MPs, and the pink ones are for the MLAs. "The security has been tightened in view of what happened a few days back in the Vidhan Sabha".

# Nominated members are not allowed to cast their votes.

DMK's MK Stalin also cast his vote at the Tamil Nadu Assembly in the morning.

Chhedi Paswan, BJP MP from Sasaram in Bihar, could not vote as his election was quashed by the Patna High Court a year ago. All MPs have a similar vote value of 708. The vote value of an MLA from Assam is 116.

India storm into Cup semis as NZ wilt
Indian eves dished out an impressive performance to make it to the semi-final of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 . There seems to be no stopping India captain Mithali Raj .

Cousins Charged For Killing 4 Suburban In Pennsylvania
The charging documents state DiNardo used a backhoe to put Finocchiaro in a metal tank he referred to as "the pig roaster". Patrick only had $800, and they walked to a secluded part of the property where DiNardo shot him with a.22 caliber rifle.

Man stuck inside ATM gets creative with 'please help me' notes
The man started to send notes for help through the ATM receipt slot after realising customers were using the ATM. Well, at least it wasn't for the engineer who was genuinely trapped for two hours.

Kumar is a five-time member of the Lok Sabha, and won her first election in 1985.

Lawmakers across India voted on Monday to elect the country's 14th President with Union Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu declaring that ruling NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind would win with a "comfortable and respectable margin" against opposition-backed Meira Kumar. He had filed his nomination for the election on June 23.

The BJP and allies have almost 63 per cent of the vote while the Congress-led opposition has a little over 35 per cent. Independents and other smaller parties, who have not made their choice known, have two per cent.

The NDA candidate has the support of non-NDA parties like All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Janata Dal- United (JD-U), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and independents. While the Congress legislature party meeting will be held at conference hall, the BJP and the JD (S) will hold their meetings at their respective party offices. Senior Congress leader from Bihar Shakil Ahmed Khan is the representative of the opposition candidate who will monitor polls in UP.

The ballot boxes from the states will be brought to Delhi for counting on July 20.

Other reports by Guamnewswatch

Discuss This Article